Send us tips/photos/videos


Primary numbers rolling in

Add Your Heading Text Here

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Posted on: June 25, 2014

Rounding up the numbers from races of local interest:

County Council District 2 (Democrat)

Doyle Niemann – 2,214 (50.2%)
Deni Taveras – 2,196 (49.8%)

Municipalities: Hyattsville, Mount Rainier, Brentwood, North Brentwood

House of Delegates – District 22 (Democrat)

Alonzo Washington – 7,236   (31.7%)
Tawanna Gaines – 6,055   (26.5%)
Anne Healey – 26.51   (25.7%)
Rushern Baker IV – 3,678   (16.1%)

Three Democratic nominees in this race compete with Republican Lynn White in the general election for three seats in the House of Delegates.

Municipalities: Hyattsville, Riverdale, University Park, New Carrollton, Berwyn Heights

House of Delegates – District 47A (Democrat)

Jimmy Tarlau – 2,510   (26.7%)
Diana Fennell – 2,200   (23.4%)
Michael G. Summers – 1,601   (17%)
Malcom Augustine – 1,582   (16.8%)
Joseph Solomon – 1,508   (16.0%)

Mount Rainier city councilman Jimmy Tarlau and former Colmar Manor mayor Diana Fennell should expect Democratic nominations in District 47A for the Maryland House of Delegates.  Current Delegate Michael Summers came up short in this race.  Hyattsville city councilman Joseph Solomon won’t advance to the general election either.

District 47 gets three seats in the house, one most likely going to Democratic nominee Will Campos in the newly created District 47B .  Two spots are being vacated by Delegate Jolene Ivey, who ran with Gubernatorial-hopeful Doug Gansler, and Delegate Doyle Niemann, who is fighting for a spot on the Prince George’s County Council.

The two Democratic nominees will contend with Republican nominee Fred Price, Jr. in the general election for these two seats in the House of Delegates for District 47A.

Municipalities: Landover Hills, Cheverly, Bladensburg, Colmar Manor, Cottage City, Brentwood, North Brentwood

Democratic Legislative Committee – District 22

Emmett V. Jordan – 4,376  (33.6%)
Denise M. Riley 3,973   (30.5%)
Patrick A Paschall – 3,027   (23.2%)

So far, it looks as if Hyattsville city councilman Patrick Paschall will not continue forward in his bid in the Democratic Legislative Committee.  Paschall would not have been required to vacate his Hyattsville City Council seat if he won.

Municipalities: Hyattsville, Riverdale, University Park, New Carrollton, Berwyn Heights

For a full list of primary results, visit the Maryland Board of Elections website.



The Streetcar Suburbs Spotlight

Local news and events straight to your inbox

Free! Cancel anytime.

Have a tip?

Send us tips/photos/videos

Related Posts