BY REBECCA BENNETT — The deadline to register to run for six open seats on the Hyattsville City Council passed Friday at 5 p.m. Several candidates submitted candidacy paperwork on the final day.

With Councilmember Candace Hollingsworth (Ward 1) kicking off a now uncontested bid for mayor earlier this month, there are seven challengers for her vacant Ward 1 council seat.  The Ward 2 council seat is another highly contested race with three candidates challenging incumbent Councilmember Shani Warner, who just filed paperwork seeking reelection two days ago. Councilmembers Paula Perry (Ward 4) and Joseph Solomon (Ward 5) are also running for reelection. Councilmember Tim Hunt (Ward 3) announced in February that he would not be seeking reelection for his seat.

Mayor Marc Tartaro issued a statement Friday that he would not be seeking reelection, citing the time and commitment his full time job now requires. “I am grateful to have had the opportunity to serve the residents of Hyattsville in my many years on the city council and most recently as Mayor,” he said.  “I would also like to express my appreciation for the excellent work of the city staff and the dedication of the city council in moving Hyattsville forward over the past 10 years.”

City-wide elections will take place on Tuesday, May 5 from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. with early voting days on Saturday, Apr. 25 and Saturday, May 2 from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. at Magruder Park. The deadline to register to vote is Apr. 10. For more information about voting, visit the city’s website.

The Hyattsville Life & Times will have an election guide in the April print edition.

The Hyattsville Life & Times presents
The 2015 Hyattsville City Election Forum
Apr. 22 at 7:30 p.m.

We need your questions for the candidates by April 15:

Join us in person:

Hyattsville Municipal Building
Third floor council chambers

Watch live at home:

Cable: Comcast 71 or Verizon 12


Who is in the running:

Candace B. Hollingsworth

Ward 1 Councilmember
William Jenney
Talib Karim
Carl R. Nielsen
Jocelyn I. Nolasco
Winnie Obike
Kevin Ward
LaVonne Leslie

Ward 2 Councilmember
Andrew Turner (withdrawn)
Emily Strab
Shani Warner (incumbent)
David Hiles

Ward 3 Councilmember
Thomas Wright

Ward 4 Councilmember
Paula J. Perry (incumbent)

Ward 5 Councilmember
Joseph Solomon (incumbent)
Sonia E. Francis