Natalie Holmes, a member of the women’s soccer team at Bloomsburg University in Pennsylvania, received the Division 2 Athletic Directors Association Academic Achievement Award.

Yoshiko Slater was named to the spring 2022 dean’s list at Emerson College, in Boston, Ma.

Vivian Zhuang graduated in May from Tufts University, in Medford, Ma., with a B.S. degree in biopsychology. Zhuang was also named to the spring 2022 dean’s list.

William Tarpine is a member of the NCAA Division III Men’s Golf team at Albright College in Reading, Pa.

Southern New Hampshire University announced the following residents were named to the summer 2022 president’s list: Douglas Snyder, Britni Cralle, Desmond Sensie and Zachary Perry.

From left: Denise Redmond, president, Laurel Historical Society (LHS); Ann Bennett, LHS executive director; Keenashe Pennicook, Laurel High School graduate; Samantha Lilienthal, Sandy Spring Friends School graduate; Emma Newkirk, Elizabeth Seton High School graduate; Brie Young, Chesapeake Math & IT Academy High School student; and Karen Lubieniecki, LHS board chair. Missing from photo: Scholarship winner Eamon Coyle, an Atholton High School graduate.
Courtesy of Rileigh Matson/LHS

Historical Society awards scholarships

The Laurel Historical Society announced the recipients of its McCeney Fund Scholarships of $1,000 and $500 on Aug. 7:Open to both public and private school seniors who either are Laurel residents or attend a Laurel school, the McCeney Fund scholarship was founded in 2016 in memory of James McCeney, a former LHS board member and president.

The $1,000 recipients were Eamon Coyle, Atholton High School; Samantha Joy Lilienthal, Sandy Spring Friends School;   Keenashae Pennicooke, Laurel High School; and  Emma Grace Newkirk, Elizabeth Seton High School.

The $500 recipient was Brie Kamrynn Young, a freshman at Chesapeake Math & IT Academy High School North, who earned an associate degree at Prince George’s Community College through the CMIT dual enrollment program.