By Joe Murchison

Sixteen people met the deadline of July 21 and filed certificates of candidacy for the Laurel mayor and city council elections, to take place Nov. 7. It is the largest group of candidates for a city election in memory, said outgoing Mayor Craig Moe, who was first elected to the city council 33 years ago.

The candidates still must receive final certification from the elections board, after the city Ethics Commission reviews their campaign finance reports and city officials confirm they have no outstanding tax liabilities or fines. That should occur by around Aug. 4, said elections board chairman John Kish.

Here is a list of the candidates.


Seeta Deonauth

Martin Mitchell

Brencis Smith

Keith Sydnor

Sophady Uong

City Council At-Large (one seat)

Christine Johnson

Enrico McCleary II

Adrian Simmons

City Council Ward 1 (two seats)

Carl DeWalt (incumbent)

James Kole (incumbent)

Connie Lucas

Stephen Wallace

City Council Ward 2 (two seats)

Kyla Clark

Melvin Lindsley

Thomas Matthews Jr.

Jeffrey Mills