Send us tips/photos/videos


PHOTOS: Maureen Foster named Hyattsville 2015 Volunteer of the Year

Add Your Heading Text Here

Posted on: December 12, 2015

BY CHRIS CURRIE — During a Dec. 7 dinner at the Hyattsville Municipal Building, Maureen Foster was recognized as the City of Hyattsville 2015 Volunteer of the Year.  The dinner honored all of the city’s citizen volunteers, and recognized in particular a number of individuals for their extraordinary contributions to municipal affairs.

Foster was awarded the top honor for her longtime service as a member and president of the Hyattsville Planning Committee.  She received a watercolor painting commissioned especially for the award.

The event was organized by Colleen Aistis, the city’s volunteer coordinator, and was emceed by Community Services Director Jake Rollow.  City Administrator Tracey Nicholson gave the opening remarks.






Resident volunteer Jackie Johnson twice a year coordinates the Community Wide Yard Sale at Friendship Arms.










Amari Pugh, second-grade student at Rosa L. Parks Elementary school, was recognized for her assistance in making key chains, book marks and pins for holiday gifts for passengers on the city’s Call A Bus.







The Wii Friends Video Bowling Team were recognized for placing second in the National Senior League Wii Video Bowling League, Eastern ELITE Division. From left: Sharon James, Michael Mason, Christine Norris, Hyattsville Volunteer Coordinator Colleen Aistis, Louise Higgins and LaMareo Bedford.




Student Volunteers Claudia (left) and Claire Giunta were recognized for their efforts throughout the school year to make original holiday greeting cards for seniors and residents with disabilities.







Student Interns Bezawit Tesema (left), Mercy Amofa and Tual Dim received the Presidents Volunteer Service Award Youth BRONZE in recognition for completing 196 hours of voluntary service as volunteer camp coaches at Camp Magruder.




The Board of Election Supervisors received the Presidents Volunteer Service Award, Lifetime Achievement for their ongoing dedication and commitment to city elections.  From left: Greta Mosher, Anna Frankle, Andrea Ross, Besse McLean, City Clerk Laura Reams (presenter). Not in photo: Ana-Lisa Pineda.



In addition to her Volunteer of the Year award, Maureen Foster also received the Presidents Volunteer Service Award, Lifetime Achievement for her service on the Hyattsville Planning Committee.  The award was presented by Assistant City Administrator Jim Chandler.





Photos by Chris Currie



The Streetcar Suburbs Spotlight

Local news and events straight to your inbox

Free! Cancel anytime.

Have a tip?

Send us tips/photos/videos

Related Posts